We are the Shenandoah Valley’s most trusted supplier of aggregate products for personal and commercial projects of all sizes. We strive to deliver the highest quality rock, in the safest way possible, at the best price for our community and beyond.
With over 100 years of service under our belts, we know how to help our customers seamlessly achieve their goals. We treat our natural resources with the same respect we show our customers.
The Shenandoah Valley’s been home to the Frazier family for over 100 years. We hold our corner of Virginia dear, and strive to make positive impacts in our community throughout the year.
“Our goal has always been to accommodate our customers. Whether it be making after-hours deliveries, producing to a custom specification, or meeting some other special need, we try to become part of the customers team”
– Robert Y. Frazier, Founder
From New York to Virginia
In 1912, Rockingham County advertised for bidders to construct an all-weather road from Elkton, VA to Harrisonburg, VA. Mr. Fred K. Betts, Jr., a New York state contractor, was awarded the contract. He was the first heavy highway contractor to mobilize in the central Shenandoah Valley with powered excavation equipment, drills, rock crushers, and screening equipment. He opened a small road side quarry to provide the materials needed for road construction of what is now U.S. 33. After completing the road contract, Mr. Betts decided to make Harrisonburg his home, and opened the Betts Quarry in eastern Harrisonburg.
Surviving the Depression
The Valley was slow to feel the privations of the Great Depression but by 1933 demand for Betts Quarry crushed stone had dwindled. As the ‘30s progressed, the other ‘alphabet soup’ agencies of Roosevelt’s New Deal provided more job opportunities with funding for civic construction projects. The Skyline Drive was one of these major projects. Skyline Drive required a lot of crushed stone and asphalt to build the new mountaintop highway. The paving contractor set up a new paving plant in Betts Quarry and assigned a bold, young Ohio State engineer, and soon to be son-in-law, to be in charge: Robert Y. Frazier.
Growth in the Shenandoah
The rural nature of the Shenandoah Valley changed rapidly in the years after WWII as both the population and transportation needs boomed. Ready-mixed concrete emerged as an essential construction material. Bob and his brother-in-law opened Betts and Frazier Ready Mixed Concrete in 1950. This same year he also opened the Waterman quarry on the west side of Harrisonburg. Both businesses thrived during the Interstate highway construction years. Bob sold the concrete business in 1972 to be able to spend more time with his two sons, Robert and Bibb.
Quality for Generations
With the rapid growth of Madison College, the Harrisonburg area also experienced tremendous growth. Soon Waterman plant was at capacity and TFQ needed to expand. North Quarry was permitted and opened in 1978. Bob Frazier was near retirement age and brought his sons into the business to extend the Frazier Quarry to the 3rd generation. By applying their diverse skill set, Robert and Bibb were able to build upon the rock solid foundation the previous two generations established by modernizing the company and continuing to provide quality products and service to the community.
TFQ, Today and Beyond
There are three members of the 4th generation of Frazier family currently serving vital roles within the company. David Frazier in sales, Michael Frazier in Operations, and Macie Frazier in Human Resources.
The operation, once confined to a single open-cast pit on Waterman Drive, has grown to include operations in Linville, Timberville, and Elkton in order to better serve a community which has nurtured us for over a century. The Frazier Quarry, Inc. continues to play a vital role in expediting the growth of the Shenandoah Valley by suppling aggregates, while the constructs built upon this stone remain in our midst today; a silent testament to the enduring nature of the Frazier products.